Busy in Brighton…

August 7, 2009 at 5:10 am 3 comments

Well here we are in Brighton!  Maz and I arrived here very early Tuesday morning (5:00AM!) and have been busy ever since!

We started off by jetting from Hobart to Melbourne.  We had a few hours to kill there before getting on our first major flight to Kuala Lumpur.  This was a 7 hour flight which was pretty uneventful.  By the time we landed we were both really tired but had managed to stay awake in an attempt to make sure we slept on our next flight.

Despite our tiredness we were very happy to be off the plane and walking around.  We were also quite impressed with the KL airport.  We definitely felt like we were in an established Asian city and we both felt like we really wanted to stay there for a while to explore!  Luckily we have more than a 2 hour stopover on the way home.

Singapore Airport

After some confusion with timezones and my watch we realised we had about 2.5 hours in KL however we were too tired to really do anything.  I started feeling quite sick and was desperate to get on the flight so I could get some sleep.  Eventually we got onto our next plane for a 13 hour flight across to London.  Turns out I was quite sick so didn’t really enjoy the first hour or so of the flight but once I got over that we both fell asleep and stayed that way (well, as well as you can stay asleep whilst sitting up on a plane) for about 8 hours.

Once we landed at Heathrow we decided that we’d head into London city and catch some sites before heading to Brighton.  It was 8:00am in the morning after all.  We both felt pretty jetlagged but the opportunity was too good to miss.  Unfortunately we soon discovered that it would cost a fortune to store our bags somewhere so we couldn’t really do a lot. We did manage to cruise around between some train stations a bit before heading to Brighton.

Maz

Paddington

VictoriaStation

Once we arrived Brighton we made our way to our apartment.  Its quite small but surprisingly nice and has everything we need.  Minor drawback is that our bathroom doesn’t have a shower, but just a bath with an extendy nozzle type thing.  Its not ideal but does the job – I’d hate to have to use it in winter though!

Balcony View

Kitchen

Thus far the weather has been beautifully warm and Brighton itself is more than charming.  Its quite an experience living and working in such a different place.  My biggest issue seems to be that my brain is caught between work mode and holiday mode.  Everything I do each day makes my brain think that I should be on holidays.  I’m catching public transport, I’m trying to decide what tourist related things we can do in our spare time and it feels like lovely summer every day!  Unfortunately the reality is that I have to work daily and there’s still as much pressure as ever in that reagard.  In fact, there’s probably more pressure as I know my time here is limited and precious for the guys I am here to train.

I need to find a healthy balance so I can get my work done appropriately, and relax and chillout in holiday fashion at the same time!  I’m hoping a couple more days (and the upcoming weekend!) should get me there no worries!

Entry filed under: General Thoughts. Tags: , .

A subtle shift to organised bliss… Early Impressions…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mazil  |  August 7, 2009 at 5:24 am

    I think maybe my fringe needs to go the other way :<

    Reply
  • 2. Fiona M  |  August 7, 2009 at 11:24 am

    Cool photos Jase – love the view from the apartment! Looks like Etech has put you in the penthouse suite! I see you already have Maz working out in the kitchen! Check out some pubs and get back to us with a beer review!

    Reply
    • 3. Jase  |  August 7, 2009 at 4:35 pm

      We went out for a few beers on Wednesday but I have no idea what they were. They don’t match beers to glasses over here so its confusing 😛

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Tweet Tweet

Categories